Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size

Board of Directors

Hazel Self – Chair
Hazel Self has been involved with disability issues and the development of services for 22 years. She has quadriplegia and uses attendant services. Ms. Self has served on several boards of directors including the Cheshire Homes Foundation, Clarendon Foundation, the Hugh MacMillan Centre and is currently the president of the Centre for Independent Living in Toronto. She is the coordinator of community services at the Gage Transition to Independent Living, a community-based program of West Park Healthcare Centre in Toronto.

Zoe Klein  – Treasurer
Zoe has been in practice as a tax accountant since 1984, and is an affirmed member of The Association of Professional Accountants and Tax Consultants (T.A.P.T.C.). Zoe has been involved, both professionally and personally, with several not-for-profit and charitable entities. Zoe was on the steering committee that advocated for and eventually opened Casey House Hospice.  In the years following that involvement, she was the treasurer for a small charity that sourced funding and provided grants for individuals who were living with the combined challenges of HIV and addictions.

Ann Abbott
Anne is an artist, writer, blogger, and a disability activist. Anne lives in Toronto and uses augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) to communicate. She has worked on a number of CDAC projects over the past 10 years.

Lynnette Norris
Before her retirement in 2009, Lynnette Norris worked for many years as a consultant in augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) at Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Centre. She has a background in special education and has extensive experience working with children and adults who use AAC. Her particular areas of interest are literacy development, family centred intervention and transition to adult services. She has presented individually and collaboratively at many international conferences and has worked as a clinician and mentor in AAC issues in Peru, Italy, Columbia and Brazil.

Lynnette has volunteered on many ISAAC committees over the years and was the founding president of ISAAC Canada. She has received several honours and awards. Most notably the Holland Bloorview’s Circle on Honour Award for her dedicated and exemplary service and the Ontario Federation for Cerebral Palsy’s Doris Griffith Award.

John Lord
John Lord is a community researcher, author, facilitator, and leader in community change. He was founder and first director of the Centre for Community Based Research in Kitchener. John has published dozens of articles and several books on research-inspired social innovation and community change. Among the books he has authored and co-authored, Pathways to Inclusion; Building a New Story with People and Communities, and Impact: Changing the Way we View Disability are widely used across Canada in courses and workshops. His most recent book, Facilitating an Everyday Life, outlines approaches to facilitating relationships, networks, and community connections for citizens who are vulnerable.

John is also the founding partner of the Facilitation Leadership Group (a training, coaching, and consulting enterprise), and is actively involved in supporting families, communities, and organizations to embrace the values, principles, and strategies required to facilitate what he calls a New Story.

John Lord lives in Waterloo, Ontario, where he is currently chair of the New Story Group of Waterloo Region, a grass-roots organization that sponsored the Belonging Conversations in the fall of 2013.

Ann Sutton, Ph.D.

Ann Sutton is a Professor IN Speech-Language Pathology program in the School of Rehabilitation Sciences at the University of Ottawa. She previously had an academic appointment at the Université de Montréal and the Research Centre of Ste. Justine Hospital in Montreal. She has worked clinically in Montréal and Boston MA. Dr. Sutton is a member of professional organizations related to communication disorders, including Speech-language and Audiology Canada (SAC), the Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologists du Québec (OOAQ), and the American Speech- Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).

Dr. Sutton has been involved in research within the field of communication disorders for many years, particularly in the area of augmentative and alternative communication, receiving funding for much of her work from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.  She has published several scientific papers, participated in many conferences and served as Editor for the journal Augmentative and Alternative.

Lynn Mitchell

Lynn Mitchell is a lawyer and founder of Lynn Mitchell Law, specializing in environmental and energy matters. She previously was a partner at Rueter Scargall Bennett LLP and Heenan Blaikie LLP. Ms. Mitchell has 20 years of experience as an advocate for and counsel to individuals and corporations, after holding various management positions in financial services. She is presently Vice-Chair of the Environmental Law Section of the Ontario Bar Association and is a past Director of a community legal clinic, which assists low income individuals with landlord and tenant disputes. She holds an MBA and LLB from the University of Toronto and a BComm from Queen’s University.

Past Board Members:

Kathleen Kennedy

Melinda Rundle

Joanna Birenbuam

Al Cook, Ph. D.

Harpreet Bassi

Fiona Critchton
Melanie Fried-Oken, Ph.D., CCC/Sp
John Guyatt
Michelle Hurtubise
Pat Mirenda, Ph.D.
Suzanne Scott
Anne Warrick
Judith Snow
Tony Diamanti
Donna McGhie Richmond, Ph.D
Marcia McNabb
Janice Light, Ph.D.
Sue Lantz, BA (Hon.), M.P.A.
Elise Nakelsky